M1CarbineForum
M1CarbineForum
Home | Profile | Register | Active Topics | Active Polls | Members | Private Messages | Search | FAQ
Username:
Password:
Save Password
Forgot your Password?

All Forums
 General Discussion
 New Member Introductions
 New to M1 Carbine-Looking for advice/pointers
 New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

SoCal1911
Starting Member

USA
2 Posts

Posted - 02/11/2018 :  8:33:07 PM  Show Profile Send SoCal1911 a Private Message  Reply with Quote
Hello from California, Newbie here.
My (2) M1 Garands that I got many years ago from CMP are my favorite rifles. I am looking into buying a USGI M1 Carbine to go with them, but don't know my a** from a hole in the ground about these rifles. I know this is a very much a newbie question, but what should I be looking for to find a good shooter M1 Carbine? Here is what I think I want:
USGI M1 Carbine, No reproductions, prefer a non-imported, good condition shooter grade. Local gun show had "parts guns". I assume made up from left over parts, for $750-$800, worth it? Not a collector, but would like to have solid value to what I end up buying. How do I tell if one is imported? What do I look for to determine if it has any problems? What do I stay away from? What is a high stock?
Thanks for any insight and information you would be enlightening me with.
Tom
SoCal1911

SoCal1911

Jackp
Veteran Member

USA
1065 Posts

Posted - 02/11/2018 :  10:49:34 PM  Show Profile Send Jackp a Private Message  Reply with Quote
Hi Tom and welcome to the forum from New Mexico!