M1CarbineForum
M1CarbineForum
Home | Profile | Register | Active Topics | Active Polls | Members | Private Messages | Search | FAQ
Username:
Password:
Save Password
Forgot your Password?

All Forums
 Technical Discussion
 Identification & Photo Reference
 Identification Help
 New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

shiverbs
Starting Member

USA
4 Posts

Posted - 01/26/2017 :  4:30:52 PM  Show Profile Send shiverbs a Private Message  Reply with Quote
I recently purchased an M1 carbine from a friend. I am new to M1's and would like help identifying what I have.

The rear of the receiver (under rear sight) is marked:

Saginaw S'G'

The top of the barrel is marked with:

Underwood
3-43

The side of the barrel is marked with:

Blue Sky / Arlington, VA

The sling area of stock is marked with: U The right/rear of stock (ejection side) has a square with the below letters inside the square

RIA
EB

The safety and bottom side of hard guard are marked:

HI

The side of the adjustable sight is marked:

PI

Any help on identification and value would be greatly appreciated!

Photos:
You must be logged in to see this link.

Edited by - shiverbs on 01/26/2017 5:30:28 PM

americanboy
Advanced Member

USA
369 Posts

Posted - 01/26/2017 :  6:42:56 PM  Show Profile Send americanboy a Private Message  Reply with Quote
You can do a good deal of identification by going to USCARBINECAL30M1.com and select components. Many of the pro's here on the forum don't trust that site a great deal, but it's interesting and handy for identification of most small parts. Navigate around that site and you may find answers to most of your questions.