M1CarbineForum
M1CarbineForum
Home | Profile | Register | Active Topics | Active Polls | Members | Private Messages | Search | FAQ
Username:
Password:
Save Password
Forgot your Password?

All Forums
 Technical Discussion
 Maintenance & Troubleshooting
 Bolt popped out edit:SOLVED
 New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

DontMessWithTexas
Starting Member

USA
1 Posts

Posted - 01/06/2018 :  6:49:44 PM  Show Profile Send DontMessWithTexas a Private Message  Reply with Quote
I'm new to the M1 Carbine scene. I just acquired an Inland Mfg M1 from my uncle who got it from someone else. If i'm reading the serial number diagram right it was end of war production in Jan 1944. That's seriously cool, but the damn thing was sporterized with a 4x40 hunting scope (i'm going to work on fixing that later).

Anyway, I knew the thing was dirty when he gave it to me and I should know better, but I was so excited I went straight to the range. I put maybe 4-5 magazines through it. On the 5th, I pulled the bolt back to chamber and the damned bolt popped out.

I guess I just need to know why this might have happened so I can prevent it.

Any help or information for a newcomer is welcome. Thanks and Gig Em.

Inland Div #5019921
TAMU C/O 16

Edited by - DontMessWithTexas on 03/31/2018 10:10:52 AM

Google AdSense

USA
Mountain View

Jackp
Veteran Member

USA
1011 Posts

Posted - 01/06/2018 :  8:07:18 PM  Show Profile Send Jackp a Private Message  Reply with Quote
Hi and welcome to the forum from New Mexico!