M1CarbineForum
M1CarbineForum
Home | Profile | Register | Active Topics | Active Polls | Members | Private Messages | Search | FAQ
Username:
Password:
Save Password
Forgot your Password?

All Forums
 Technical Discussion
 Refinishing & Restoration
 Refinishing a reproduction stock.
 New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

BatBoy
Starting Member

8 Posts

Posted - 01/15/2016 :  7:36:32 PM  Show Profile Send BatBoy a Private Message  Reply with Quote

I have a Quality Hardware M1 Carbine that I would like to restore. I found it at a local pawn shop and for some reason had to have it.

I'm new to the m1 Carbine world, so forgive me if I get the terms wrong or mixed up.

The first thing I would like to do is buy a reproduction walnut stock to put it in. It currently resides in a reproduction paratrooper stock. I'm putting that stock on an auto ordinance M1 Carbine I purchased for WW2 reenacting. The AO carbine also, came with a reproduction paratrooper stock, but I will be selling that stock, as I prefer the before mentioned stock on the Quality Hardware carbine.

Once I purchase a walnut reproduction carbine stock what are my best options for reproducing the red patina that people associate with WW2 carbine stocks have?

Google AdSense

USA
Mountain View

Tuna

3248 Posts

Posted - 01/15/2016 :  7:53:09 PM  Show Profile Send Tuna a Private Message  Reply with Quote
The red patina is more a form of oxidation by years of oil, grease and sweat on the wood. If a WW2 stock were to be cleaned properly it would not have any red color to it. Now the best color in my opinion was with the early stocks made from top grade walnut. Once cleaned they have a nice warm glow about them that later stocks just didn't have as the quality of the walnut dropped. The reproduction stocks being made now are out of a good quality walnut and with a bit of hand rubbing with lightly applied raw linseed oil will have that glow.
Go to Top of Page

BatBoy