M1CarbineForum
M1CarbineForum
Home | Profile | Register | Active Topics | Active Polls | Members | Private Messages | Search | FAQ
Username:
Password:
Save Password
Forgot your Password?

All Forums
 Contractor Specific Discussion
 Underwood
 Help with my first M1 Carbine
 New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

artyldr01
Starting Member

USA
19 Posts

Posted - 06/02/2014 :  9:27:44 PM  Show Profile Send artyldr01 a Private Message  Reply with Quote
Good evening.

I am looking for the perfect M1 for me but I often get too impatient and could use some assistance. I won't get into my disappointment from this weekend at the militaria show where I had it in my sights and lost it. I am a newbie to this weapon and have been researching feverishly. I should clarify my perfect M1 is a correct example of a standard firearm. Rebuild ok. I don't want one significantly "restored."

My local pawnshop has an Underwood SN: 6117239. Underwood Barrel date (faint) 9-43. The good: most parts appear typical rebuild, RIA front sight, angled charging handle, rotary safety, round bolt, underlined Magazine release, MMQ/MMQ barrel band/bayonet lug, 1 UI and one U marked magazine. The bad: civilian stock (unsure about hand guard I think is legit), rear sight replaced with a dovetail scope mount. A flip sight is included but I'm pretty sure it's repro.

I looked at three M1s this weekend (Underwood, Saginaw S' G'...The reason for my foul attitude all weekend...and I can't remember the 3rd) in the $825 range. Everything else was $1000 and up (way up).

The one I am describing is at $730. All I want is a solid but used Arsenal Rebuild marked stock and a correct type 2 (type 3) rear sight to bring it back to standard rebuild configuration. What is a good price for a rebuild stock and sight? I see prices all over the board.

Lastly, knowing what you know, is this a fair deal for what I'm looking for or too much money?